button to main menu   West's Guide to the Lakes, 1778/1821

button title page
button previous page button next page
Page 94:-
On the summit of Castle-crag are the remains of a fort; and much freestone, both red and white, has been quarried out of the ruins. Not long since, a lead pan with an iron bow was taken out of them, and two masses of smelted iron, which probably were from the bloomery at the foot of the Stake in Borrowdale. The fort has most likely been of Roman origin, to guard the pass, and secure the treasure contained in the bosom of these mountains. The Saxons, and after them, the Furness monks, maintained this fort for the same purpose. All Borrowdale was give (sic) to the monks of Furness, probably by one of the Derwent family, and Adam de Derwentwater gave them free ingress and egress through all his lands [1]. The Grange was the place where they laid up their grain and their tithe, and also the salt they made at the salt spring, of which works there are still some vestiges remaining, below Grange. The length of the castellum from east to west is about 70 yards, from south to north about 40 yards.
station, Castle Crag
STATION IV. From the top of Castle-crag in Borrowdale, there is a most astonishing view of the lake and vale of Keswick, spread out to the north in the most picturesque manner. Every bend of the river is distinctly
[1] Antiquities of Furness, page 106.
button next page
gazetteer links
button -- Borrowdale
button -- Castle Crag
button -- Grange
button -- (salt spring, Borrowdale)
button -- (settlement, Borrowdale)
button -- station, Castle Crag

button to main menu Lakes Guides menu.