button to main menu  Gents Mag 1850 part 2 p.412

button introduction
button list, 3rd qtr 19th century
Gentleman's Magazine 1850 part 2 p.412

  Furness Abbey
Furness Abbey

Reports from the British Archaeological Association.
... ...
On Wednesday, Aug. 21, an excursion was made to Furness Abbey, when a lecture was read by Mr. Edmund Sharpe, architect, of Lancaster. He first developed the principles of his system, by which he divides our ancient ecclesiastical architecture into seven periods, two of them during the Romanesque style, the Saxon and Norman, and five of them during the Gothic style, the Transitional, Lancet, Geometrical, Curvilinear, and Rectilinear. The Norman period prevailed for seventy years, from 1066 to 1145; the Lancet for forty-five, from 1145 to 1190; the duration of the remaining periods are stated in our report of Mr Sharpe's lecture at Lincoln, in our
button next page
gazetteer links
button -- Furness Abbey

button to main menu Lakes Guides menu.