button to main menu   Ford's Description of the Lakes, 1839/1843

button title page
button previous page button next page
Page 99:-
[magnifi]cently out of the noble forest trees, by which they are partly surrounded and sheltered. The approach is through an old archway covered with ivy. The oaks and Scotch firs are splendid, and with the meadows, the wooded hill, and the distant Fell of Carrick, unite with the castle in producing scenery rarely equalled for amenity and splendour.
Proceeding onwards, Holm Hill is on the right. Not far from it is Hawksdale Hall, once the residence of Nicholson the antiquarian, who, in conjunction with Chancellor Burn, wrote a History of Cumberland and Westmorland, which no subsequent publications have as yet superseded. At Oaks, the tourist cannot but admire the remaining lordly oak that, with another, gave name to the house. Here the vale of Dalston opens out to view, presenting a scene of mixed fertility and desolation, caused by the excessive rapidity and violence of the Caldew's swollen waters. This village, or rather knot of villages, is populous, being the seat of busy cotton manufactories. The church is a plain building, consisting of a nave, chancel, and south transept. The bell-gable is curious. The chancel has been lately repaired in the most tasteful manner by the Lord Bishop, who is patron and impropriator. The walk hence along the wooded banks of the river Caldew to Carlisle is charming.
  Dalston Hall
Following, however, the high road, the only object to be noticed is Dalston Hall, now used as a farm-house. It has a venerable look of olden times: the outline is varied with turrets and battlements.
gazetteer links
button -- "Dalston Hall" -- Dalston Hall
button -- "Dalston" -- Dalston
button -- "Hawksdale Hall" -- Hawksdale Hall
button -- "Oaks" -- Oaks
button -- "Rose Castle" -- Rose Castle
button -- St Michael's Church
button next page

button to main menu Lakes Guides menu.